Puppy

Tact – noun

: the ability to do or say things without offending or upsetting other people.

Today a friend of mine compared me to a puppy. No, it wasn’t in a cute way. She told me I was gullible like a little puppy.  I had just finsihed telling her a story about how I helped a couple of new friends of mine with a certain problem but left myself out in the process. She told me I should make people happy when I know that I’ll be happy too. She also told me it was stupid that I gave too much of myself without keeping any.

From my perspective being selfless takes courage. Clearly, we do not share the same opinion. I think everyone is entitled to their own opinion and every single one should be respected to some degree. Think of your opinion as a sword, keep it sheathed everything is fine. Draw it and wave it at other people and someone is bound to get hurt. 

Most people don’t realize this but when giving “advice” to your friends you need to be extremely cautious about the way you word things. “The truth hurts. Deal with it.” is a common thing people say when they provide counsel to friends in need of it. Is it really the truth though or just your perception of what the truth is? What you believe to be true may not be the same for the person you’re giving counsel to. Being tactful when having a serious talk with someone is extremely important. The wrong words can cut deeper than a knife. You may feel like you are helping when in reality you are being destructive. The point is, be sensitive to what the other person may be feeling because waving your sword at them can cause serious damage.

Leave a Reply

